No-Waste Lifestyle

StockSnap_L9V5PU05K6

Hi all!

This week I’ve really been focused on creating a no-waste lifestyle, and upping my game. So far I’ve invested into a few reusable items, like non-stick silicone baking mats, reusable produce bags, and DIY toiletries. Yet, I still create a TON of waste, especially from shopping at the grocery store, so it seems like the key to breaking into a new level of waste-free living. It seems like a really important step to take, since there is such a problem with plastic polluting the ocean, the damage landfills do to our planet, and buying less packaged food = more money and better health!

The Steps I’ll Be Taking:

  1. Educate myself more. Using some of the resources below, I want to explore more areas in my life that can be waste-free, like what to do when ordering take-out or going to Starbucks. I really like Trash is for Tosser’s youtube page that gives realistic and simple steps to take when going trash-free.
  2. Finish buying waste-free products from this list. I already use coconut oil as a make-up remover, kitchen towels instead of paper, period panties instead of tampons/pads, reusable bags and produce bags, reusable water bottles, Castile soap in a recyclable container, dyer buddies, white vinegar cleaner, reusable ear cleaner, and DIY deodorant (stored in an old Tom’s Deodorant Case) and toothpaste (stored in tiny mason jar). I want to buy a reusable razor, dish brush, bamboo toothbrushes, and reusable toothpick for flossing.
  3. Recycle! When buying anything that can’t be reusable (i.e. certain food containers, packages, toilet paper rolls (unless you’re really into it!)) then recycling is the next best step for waste.
  4. Begin to compost. I don’t have a yard, so I’m going to have to research how to compost and compost indoors. One thing I’ve been doing to cut down on food waste is taking any veggie scraps and freezing them, then once a week or so simmering them with water to make Veggie Broth from scraps!
  5. Shop at the farmer’s market and Whole Foods bulk bins. This week I’ll be going to Whole Foods (I know, expensive! But worth it for the lack of waste) to buy my grains (brown rice, quinoa, oats, etc.) and legumes/nuts/seeds (black beans, chickpeas, almonds, chia seeds, flax seeds, etc.) as well as unwrapped soap and bulk shampoo/conditioner. When there I want to bring mason jars to store them in, so I’ll need the cashier to “tare” (or weigh) the jars, then subtract that from the price of the grains or legumes when paying. Then I’ll be going to my local farmer’s market to purchase produce/fruit (strawberries, carrots, broccoli, spinach, potatoes, corn, etc.) and using my reusable bags!

Resources

2 thoughts on “No-Waste Lifestyle”

Leave a Reply

