Meal Prep Sunday #6

 

StockSnap_R09NTYYS4UThanks to everyone who has put up with my little mid-summer hiatus from posting! I had an amazing meal prep Sunday yesterday, but unfortunately don’t have any pics! But I’ll describe below. This is going to be a different MPS because I’ve been making some changes to my food shopping/prepping/eating, in the following ways:

Food Shopping

Now I’m food shopping at Whole Foods, which may not seem like a Frugal Vegan thing to do, but can actually be even MORE affordable than shopping at other food stores when done correctly. As I’m transitioning to a zero-waste lifestyle (and trust me, I’m not succeeding too much!), I have been using the bulk-bins from Whole Foods, using a mason jars, as shown in this Trash is For Tossers Video. She has great videos on how to grocery shop waste-free, a challenging prospect, but the bulk-bins at Whole Foods makes that possible, and I use reusable bags, mason jars for grains and beans, and reusable produce bags for veggies. Another reason I go to WF for my grocery shopping now is that they have a composting bin! I never noticed this, but since I can’t compost at home, I just follow this video’s instructions by freezing my food scraps then putting them in a paper bags to compost at Whole Foods.

But isn’t it more expensive? Not really! I bought all of the items below, using my mason jars for bulk bins and produce bags for veggies, and the 365 generic brand if possible, and it came out to about $50, and will last me 2 weeks! $25 a week for one is definitely frugal, and the food is so abundant, healthful, and delicious!

Prepping & Eating

As I mentioned in a previous post, I’m obsessed with the Youtube Bonny Rebecca right now, so I’ve been modeling my meals after hers, which are so yummy and healthy too! I’m still prepping my granola (or she calls it muesli) for breakfast, then 5 lunches for the week, but I’ve decided to cook more on week nights (when possible) since her recipes all take about 15-30 minutes to make (so easy!). I’m eating more whole-foods, a LOT more veggies (which you can see in the grocery list below), and a larger variety of grains/legumes.

So, here is what I bought and made (or plan on making) this week!

Grocery List

1 bunch kale

1 bunch bananas

1 pint blueberries

1 cob corn

2 avocado

5 tomatoes

1 bunch carrots

1 pack snow peas (in a recyclable container)

1 head cauliflower

1 bunch broccoli

1 bunch lettuce

1 red onion

1 head garlic

1 bunch green onions

3 sweet potatoes

1 extra-firm tofu

1 mason jars of chickpeas

1 mason jars of black beans

1 mason jars of lentils

1 mason jars of oats

1 mason jars of flax

1 mason jars of raw almonds

1 mason jars of shredded coconut

1 pack of corn tortillas (yes these were in plastic 😦 baby steps!)

 

2 cans light coconut milk

1 almond milk

1 pack rice noodles

1 small jar of curry paste (I used oil-free)

Recipes (all inspired by Bonny Rebecca)!

Breakfast:

  • Museli

Oats, flax, almonds, cinnamon toasted, with almond milk and fruit

Lunch:

  • Lentil Dahl

Lentils, garlic, snow peas, cauliflower, light coconut milk, curry sauce, cook 45 minutes, serve w greens

Dinners:

  • Stir Fry

Quinoa/rice, broccoli, snow peas, carrots, garlic, braggs, sesame seeds

  • Buddha Bowl

1 sweet potato, steamed kale, tofu cooked with braggs and garlic, avocado, and corn

  • Falafel

Chickpeas, oats, spices, hummus, over a bed of greens

  • Tacos

Black beans and tomatoes cooked with spices, 1 sweet potato baked, greens, corn, and corn tortillas with avocado

 

Prep time

  1. On the stove top, cook in 2 pots a half mason jar of chickpeas and black beans (save the rest for next week), filling them with water about 2 inches over the beans, then boiling for about 1 hour, refilling water about every 10-15 minutes.
  2. While they’re cooking, preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit, place oats on a nonstick baking mat on a baking sheet, then cook for about 15-20 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, spray produce with this produce spray and let sit a few minutes before washing and drying. Then, begin chopping them and putting them into the fridge in reusable container to have them ready for dinners that week.
  4. When the oats are done, combine with raw almonds, flax (pulsed in blender until ground up), and shredded coconut. Museli done! For breakfast, simply put some into a bowl with almond milk, top with bananas, blueberries, or any fruit!
  5. This week I’m making the lentil dahl over rice noodles for my lunches. I will prep 5 containers of them, and everything else I will make at night, since I want to cook more food fresh when possible.
  6. For the dahl: once beans are done, use same pots to cook noodles. While they’re cooking, in a nonstick pan add a can of coconut milk, garlic, and curry paste, and any other spices you have on hand, like turmeric. Heat on medium-low and mix until it becomes creamy and blended. Then, add in cauliflower, snow peas, and cooked lentils, letting simmer for 45 minutes. When noodles are done, put into the 5 containers, and top with dahl once finished. The morning before eating them, place some greens into the bowl.

That’s it! Hope you enjoy the new plan!

3 thoughts on “Meal Prep Sunday #6”

  1. This is truly fantastic. Kudos to you for making the transition to waste free. Everything won’t change in an instant — baby steps are key to making a lasting change. I definitely want to try to go waste free and my first step has been reusable bags when grocery shopping. Now I’m going to try to eliminate produce bags! Little changes, but they will increase over time!

    Like

Leave a Reply

